DV Archive

Decision Virginia Archive 8/08- 7/12

Recap from Fairfax

leave a comment »

We are en route back to Richmond from the McCain/Palin event in Fairfax. Campaign Officials say 23,000 people were there. We have two angles for our reports tonight at 5:30 and 6.

At 5:30pm we’ll explore the sudden massive interest in McCain rallies, which is due, by no surprise, to Sarah Palin. We weren’t surprised to find that Palin was one of the main reasons that people came to event, but she wasn’t necessarily the biggest star.

Then at 6pm, we will take a look at the McCain Campaign strategy in the wake of some pretty hefty criticism from the Obama camp. Despite attacks on some specific things such as: Palin and the Bridge to Nowhere, Drill Baby Drill and The E-Bay plane. All of these topics were trumpeted and done so proudly by the McCain team today. In fact it even opened the door for them to go after Obama. I’ll show you how it happened at 6.

We also we have a complete look at the Obama trip to Norfolk. My collegue Curt Autry will have a report on that in our 5:30pm news. I must confess, I have been a bit removed from everything else beyond this event and have not heard much about what went on the coast.

I leave you with this picture from my vantage point at the rally and I will see you tonight at 5:30 and 6.

**Two other notes**

1- My apologies to those who followed the liveblog. The venue was down in a natural amphitheater and it caused all kinds of havoc with my internet connection. I know I hit a couple of posts more than once. I hope you can forgive me for that.

2-I want to make special mention of Matt Neese , our photographer for today’s event. He did not flinch when I told him we would have to leave Richmond at 3am in order to be in place for the security sweep. He also took some incredible pictures of the event.

Written by Ryan Nobles

September 10, 2008 at 7:37 pm

Leave a Reply

