DV Archive

Decision Virginia Archive 8/08- 7/12

Jones Unveils New Transition Team Members

leave a comment »

Here is a look at a new (and rather lengthy) list of people appointed to the Dwight Jones transition team. Decide for yourself if it offers any clues as to who could end up working in his administration.

Click on the story link for the full release. 

Richmond Mayor-elect Dwight Jones Announces Additional Transition Team Members and Research Committees

Richmond – Mayor-elect Dwight Jones announced today additional members to his Mayoral Transition Team which includes a diverse group of experts representing various backgrounds and interests throughout the Richmond region.

“Our goal in this transition has been to put together a qualified team of individuals willing to help build a better Richmond,” Mayor-elect Jones said. “I am honored that these persons have agreed to help in our transition efforts and feel we have put together a team of some of the best, brightest and most professional individuals in Richmond.”

The additional team members were named along with a list of ten research committees: Budget and Finance, Education, Public Safety, Community Development, Economic Development, Human Services, Parks and Recreation, Transportation, Employee Relations, and Information Technology.

These committees will be tasked with researching process and policy in each category. They will compile reports for each topic and provide analysis to the Mayor-elect. Additional members may be added to the transition team over the next several weeks.

A list of committees and transition team members are provided below.

Budget and Finance:
• Gil Minor
• C.T. Hill
• Ivan Jecklin
• Thomas Chewning
• Mike Williams
• Marge Connelly
• Darius Johnson
• Paul Timmreck
• Hon. Franklin Hall

• Dr. Thomas Shields
• Melvin Law
• Julian Ferras
• Renee White
• William Murray

Public Safety:
• Hon. C.T. Woody
• Hon. John Hager
• Victoria Pearson
• Robert Blue
• Willie Jones
• Heidi Abbott

Community Development:
• Adele Johnson
• David Smith
• Alexander Macaulay
• Thomas Kasper
• Anthony Scott

Economic Development:
• Michael Schewel
• Michel Zajur
• Carlos Brown
• Brian Jackson
• Lynda Sharp Anderson

Human Service:
• Betty Jolly
• Doris Crouse-Mays
• Dr. Thelma Bland Watson

Parks and Recreation:
• Jeffrey Bourne
• Hon. Panny Rhodes
• John Newman

• Whitt Clement
• Ann Leigh Kerr
• John Lewis

Employee Relations:
• Walter Kenney
• Sindy Benavides
• Felix Sarfo-Kantanka

Information Technology:
• Syd Dorsey
• John Ambrose
• Ranjit Sen


Written by Ryan Nobles

November 24, 2008 at 8:26 pm

Posted in Richmond City Politics

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: