DV Archive

Decision Virginia Archive 8/08- 7/12

Tell us what you think of Smoking Ban

with 7 comments

We have a poll up right now on our main web site nbc12.com that asks what you think of the passage of the smoking ban. You can find the poll by clicking here.

I have a complete report on NBC12 coming up at 5 and 6. We will hear from Gov. Tim Kaine to get his thoughts on this important legislative victory and from local Del. Chris Peace who voted against the measure.

I will have more here later as well and updates on my twitter page.

Written by Ryan Nobles

February 19, 2009 at 8:48 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. While I detest tobacco smoke, I think it should be up to the restaurateur or proprietor to allow or limit smoking. Since I hate smoke and have small children, I choose to frequent establishments that are smoke-free. Others, however, should have the right to smoke in public places if the owner allows it.

    This law the door for the government to limit nearly anything it wants.

    I realize that this is a health issue, but it certainly infringes on the rights of both the public and business owners.

    Rick

    February 19, 2009 at 8:54 pm

  2. I understand smokers want their rights, but nonsmokers have a right not to inhale someone elses second hand smoke. I am for the ban.

    Trish

    February 19, 2009 at 10:07 pm

  3. I LOVE it. It’s about time. I choose not to smoke & don’t want to be exposed to it. Wat to go !!!

    Arlene

    February 19, 2009 at 10:24 pm

  4. If people don’t like breathing in second hand smoke, they should go to a restaurant where there’s no smoking. Seems like every day that goes by, the more individual liberties we lose.

    joey

    February 19, 2009 at 11:08 pm

  5. I am a smoker, but also do not want to breathe smoke when eating. However, the current ABC laws in VA require places that are primarily a bar/club to fit into the “restaurant” category in order to be able to serve alcoholic beverages. The ban allows for private clubs to allow smoking, yet it is nearly impossible to obtain a private club license to serve alcoholic beverages.

    The decision as to whether to allow smoking or not should be up to the proprietor. If there is such a public outcry for non-smoking restaurants, the market will accommodate. This is a situation, unlike the credit market, where a free market will determine what is best for business.

    Quite simply, if we were to require restaurants, bars, clubs, etc to post on their front door that the location allows smoking, patrons can make the decision at that point as to whether or not they will patronized that location. I am certain that if Outback Steakhouse were to post said sign and saw business drop, they would consider going smoke-free.

    I, personally, don’t have a problem drinking/eating/smoking at home, why should non-smokers have a problem with drinking/eating/not-smoking at home? It’s a free country and a free economy, the last thing we need is to further bastardize the intentions of our forefathers by creating unnecessary restrictions on the liberties our country was founded on.

    SeanB

    February 20, 2009 at 4:36 am

  6. I AM OKAY WITH THE BANNING OF SMOKING IN RESTAURANTS OUT OF RESPECT FOR THE PEOPLE AROUND ME THAT MAY HAVE OTHER HEALTH PROBLEMS. ON THE OTHER HAND, EVERYTHING IS TARGETED TOWARDS PEOPLE WHO SMOKE. THEY ARE BASICALLY SAYING THAT ANYTHING YOU DEVELOP WILL PERTAIN TO SMOKING SOMEWHERE DOWN THE LINE.

    THEY ARE NOT BANNING FOODS THAT PEOPLE EAT THAT CLOG ARTERIES AND LEADS TO HEART ATTACKS, NOT BANNING DRINKING IN PUBLIC, DRIVING AFTERWARDS AND KILLING THEMSELVES OR SOMEONE ELSE RIGHT AT THAT GIVEN TIME. I COULD GO ON AND ON, BUT I WILL END ON THIS NOTE, (HOW MANY CROSSES DO YOU SEE ON THE SIDES OF ROADS THAT ARE PUT THERE BECAUSE SOMEONE DIED THERE DUE TO SECOND HAND SMOKE?

    THINK ABOUT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    KAREN

    February 23, 2009 at 5:41 pm

  7. Virginia was built on a history of tobacco. I voted for Kaine, but never again. Instead of going out to eat and help our faultering economy; I will now choose to stay home and not support restaurants in my area. I will continue to enjoy my tobacco until the next bill is passed by the anti-smoking Nazis, stopping me from smoking in my own home. We, as smokers have already been discriminated against, now I can only wait for the knock on my door…from the anti-smoking police.

    Bob

    March 12, 2009 at 2:28 pm


Leave a Reply

